Three Jefferson Scholars awarded Marshall Scholarships in the same year

November 29, 2016

The Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission has announced the names of the individuals selected to receive Marshall Scholarships in 2017. Among the winners are three Jefferson Scholars—Abraham Axler (the William H.P. Young Jefferson Scholar), William Henagan (the Ernest H. and Jeanette P. Ern Jefferson Scholar), and Sarah Koch (the Frank and Ann Hereford Jefferson Scholar). This marks the first time in either U.Va.’s history or the history of the Foundation that three students have been awarded the highly competitive and prestigious award in a single year.

Marshall Scholarships finance young Americans of high ability to study for a degree in the United Kingdom. Up to forty Scholars are selected each year to study at graduate level at a U.K. institution in any field of study. To learn about the background and future plans of these outstanding Scholars, click here.