The Board of Directors is responsible for exercising all corporate matters and for managing the business and affairs of the Jefferson Scholars Foundation.

Stephen S. Crawford, Chairman (Col ’86)
Senior Advisor, Capital One Financial Corporation
New York, New York

William L. Polk Jr., Vice Chairman (Col ’78)
Managing Director, Egis Capital Partners
St. Louis, Missouri

Tiffany B. Armstrong (Com ’90)
Managing Director, Harris Williams & Co.
Richmond, Virginia

Shahnaz Batmanghelidj
U.S. Advisor, Hoegh Capital Partners
New York, New York

T. Westray Battle III (Col ’98)
Vice President of Communications, Craft Digital Media
Washington, DC

Shelley L. Boyce (Nur ’83)
Chief Executive Officer, MedRisk Inc.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania

Robert G. Byron (Col ’73, Law ’76)
Chairman, Blue Vista Capital Partners
Chicago, Illinois

Allison Cryor DiNardo (Col ’82, GSBA '88) *
President, King Street Wireless
Alexandria, Virginia

Edward J. Dobbs (Col ’93)
President, Dobbs Management Service LLC
Memphis, Tennessee

Franklin S. Edmonds Jr. (Col ’91, Law ’95, GSBA ’95)
Managing Partner, Panning Capital Management
Charlottesville, Virginia

Kirkman Finlay III (Col ’92)
Co-founder and Chairman, Quick Farm
Columbia, South Carolina

Sarah A. Hamlin (Col ’89)
Dallas, Texas

Maryanne Quinn Hancock (Col ’96, Grad ’96)
Principal, McKinsey & Company
Atlanta, Georgia

J. Dale Harvey II (Com ’87)
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Poplar Forest Capital LLC
Pasadena, California

Landon Hilliard III (Col ’62) ****
Partner, Brown Brothers Harriman & Co.
New York, New York

Lawrence D. Howell II (Col ’75, Law ’79)
Chairman, Mentice AG

Thomas V. Inglesby (GSBA ’84, Law ’86)
Managing Director, Saratoga Partners
New York, New York

Timothy J. Ingrassia, (Col ’86)
Partner and Co-Chairman of Global M&A, Goldman Sachs Group, Inc.
New York, New York

Paul R. Izlar(Col ’84)
Advisory Director, Edge Capital Partners
Atlanta, Georgia

Richard C. Kellogg Jr. (Col ’74)****
Chair, Basic Management Inc.
Houston, Texas

George K. Martin (Col ’75)
Managing Partner, Richmond Office
McGuire Woods LLP
Richmond, Virginia

Jamala K. Massenburg (Engr ’01, GSBA ’09)
Group Technical Program Manager, Level 5, Autonomous Vehicle Division, Lyft
San Francisco, California

Tracy V. McMillan (Com ’86)
Managing Principal, HCGA Consulting Partners
Fairfield, Connecticut

Bruce A. Miller (Col ’89)
Managing Director, Investure LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia

Timothy J. Naughton (Col ’83)
Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President, AvalonBay Communities, Inc.
Oakton, Virginia

Anna M. Nekoranec (Col ’86)
Chief Executive Officer, Align Private Capital
Sarasota, Florida

Michael A. Pausic (Engr ’86)
Partner, Foxhaven Asset Management
Charlottesville, Virginia

Crisler B. Quick (Com ’77)
President, The Finance Department
Mill Neck, New York

Linda G. Renner (Col ’86)
Managing Partner, Law Offices of Thomas R. Green
Chairman, Royal Banks of Missouri
Saint Louis, Missouri

James E. Ryan (Law ’92) ***
President, University of Virginia
Charlottesville, Virginia

Louis A. Sarkes Jr. (Engr ’88, GSBA ’85) **
Partner, Chesapeake Partners
Owings Mill, Maryland

Deborah H. Valentine (Col ’80)
Richmond, Virginia

*           Board of Visitors appointee
**         Board of Managers appointee
***       U.Va. President appointee
****     Emeritus member



The Jefferson Scholarship is the premier undergraduate scholarship at the University of Virginia. Scholars are selected through a rigorous selection process that is based on exceptional performance in the areas of leadership, scholarship and citizenship.

Read more


The Jefferson Fellowship is the premier graduate fellowship offered at the University of Virginia. Based solely on merit, the Fellowship seeks to attract Ph.D. and M.B.A. candidates.

Read more


The Jefferson Scholars Foundation, like its namesake, knows that virtue and talent come from all walks of life. Indeed it is this knowledge that drives the Foundation to search the world over for its recipients.

Read more