Jefferson Scholars Foundation awards more than $80,000 to outstanding U.Va. faculty

October 12, 2015

Nine University of Virginia faculty members across eight academic departments were recognized for their exceptional commitment to classroom teaching at an awards ceremony at the Foundation on Friday, October 9th. The recipients were nominated by members of the University community, including faculty, staff and students.

Over the course of the last ten years, the Foundation has established three different faculty award programs. To date, nearly $400,000 has been awarded to approximately 40 faculty members in the College of Arts & Sciences, the Frank Batten School of Leadership & Public Policy, the McIntire School of Commerce, the School of Engineering and Applied Science and the School of Medicine. The nine recipients of the 2015 awards received more than $80,000 in cash prizes.

Michael Timko, professor of biology and director of the Echols Scholars Program, received the Jefferson Scholars Foundation Faculty Prize, which is voted on by Jefferson Scholar alumni and celebrates a faculty member’s commitment to leadership, scholarship and citizenship—the same criteria used in the selection of Jefferson Scholars.

Five members of the faculty at the School of Engineering and Applied Science received Hartfield Teaching Prizes. Each year, the Jefferson Scholars Foundation invites students and faculty to nominate members of the faculty who exemplify the highest standards and practices of learning.

This year’s winners are: John C. Bean, professor of electrical and computer engineering; Michael E. Gorman, professor of science, technology and society; James F. Groves, associate professor of materials science & engineering; Donald A. Jordan, lecturer on mechanical and aerospace engineering; and Gregory C. Lewin, lecturer on systems & information engineering.

Three faculty members received the Award for Excellence in Teaching, which recognizes faculty members who have endeavored selflessly to instill in their students the virtues of scholarship and love of learning.  The foundation invited department chairs from across the University to nominate full-time faculty members for this award.

This year’s winners are: Ira R. Bashkow, associate professor of anthropology; Daniel T. Devereux, professor of ancient philosophy and metaphysics; and William J. Kehoe, professor of commerce.