Alumni (Scholar)

John Nelson

Molly Hereford - Susanne Smith Jefferson Scholar
Washington, D.C.
M.B.A. Harvard University
B.A. University of Virginia (2010)
Professional Sectors:
Business Development


Student Council, president, Vice President for Administration, Safety and Wellness Committee chair; First Year Council, vice president; Second Year Council, Dinner Series Committee; Third Year Council; Honor Committee, senior advisor, advisor, Community Relations Committee, Braintrust Committee; Presidential Search Committee; University Safety and Security Committee, student representative; Cavalier Daily, opinion columnist; Sustained Dialogue; St. Elmo Hall; ACC Leadership Conference, U.Va. participant; Inter-Fraternity Council Judiciary Committee, judge; Jefferson Scholars Public Service Fellow, Film Series; Kenneth G. Elzinga Scholarship for Academic Excellence; William V. Daniel Award; Raven-ODK First Year Award; David A. Harrison III Undergraduate Research Award; Raven Society; Lawn Resident; Phi Beta Kappa; Dean's List; Echols Scholar

Connect with our community

View Alumni



The Jefferson Scholarship is the premier undergraduate scholarship at the University of Virginia. Scholars are selected through a rigorous selection process that is based on exceptional performance in the areas of leadership, scholarship and citizenship.

Read more

David and Jane Walentas

A transformational gift for UVA — $100 million to benefit first-generation students

Read more


The Jefferson Fellowship is the premier graduate fellowship offered at the University of Virginia. Based solely on merit, the Fellowship seeks to attract Ph.D. and M.B.A. candidates.

Read more