Russell Bogue, JS '16, named a 2015 Rhodes Scholar

November 23, 2015

The Rhodes Trust has announced the names of 32 American students selected to receive the 2016 Rhodes Scholarship. Recipients of the scholarship receive the full cost of attendance for two years of graduate study at Oxford University and are selected not only for their outstanding scholarly achievements, but for their character, commitment to the common good, and for their leadership potential. Among this year’s winners is Russell Bogue, a fourth-year honors politics student at U.Va., who came to the University only after receiving a Jefferson Scholarship.  


Bogue, the Anson M. Beard Jr. Jefferson Scholar, is the eighth Jefferson Scholar to be selected as a Rhodes Scholar in the last 20 years and the fourth in the last six years.


As a Jefferson Scholar, Bogue has left an indelible mark on the University community. He has served as the founder and editor-in-chief of Seriatim: Journal of American Politics; the vice chair for trials of the Honor Committee; the public policy chair of One in Four, an all-male peer education group at UVA focused on preventing sexual assault. He also is vice president of the Raven Society, a member of the squash team, as well as a member of Beta Theta Pi fraternity and Phi Beta Kappa.


Last year Bogue was also selected as one of 58 students in the U.S. to receive the Harry S. Truman Scholarship. Truman Scholars receive up to $30,000 towards their graduate school studies in preparation for careers in government or public service. Bogue was the fifth Jefferson Scholar in the last 10 years to receive a Truman Scholarship.


“When the holders of our Scholarships go on to do outstanding work at U.Va. and, in turn, win highly competitive awards from other institutions like The Rhodes Trust and the Harry S. Truman Foundation, it reaffirms that we are in fact fulfilling our mission to attract exceptional students to U.Va.,” said Jimmy Wright, president of the Jefferson Scholars Foundation.


Read more about the Rhodes Scholarship here.