A first in U.Va. and JSF history: Five Jefferson Scholars in a single year awarded prestigious Rhodes and Marshall Scholarships

March 14, 2017

In an unprecedented year for both the University and the Foundation, five U.Va. students were selected to receive Rhodes and Marshall Scholarships in 2017. All five recipients are Jefferson Scholars.

Abraham Axler (the William H.P. Young Jefferson Scholar), William Henagan (the Ernest H. and Jeanette P. Ern Jefferson Scholar), and Sarah Koch (the Frank and Ann Hereford Jefferson Scholar) were named recipients of the Marshall Scholarship. Aryn Frazier (the Thomas J. and Hillary D. Baltimore Jefferson Scholar) and Lauren Jackson (the R.E. Lee Wilson Jefferson Scholar) were named recipients of the Rhodes Scholarship.

In the last 25 years, 10 Jefferson Scholars have been selected as Rhodes recipients and 6 as Marshalls. Read about this year’s recipients in the most recent issue of Virginia Magazine.