The Jefferson Scholars Foundation has awarded more than $500,000 to 60 faculty members in the College of Arts & Sciences, the Curry School of Education, the Frank Batten School of Leadership & Public Policy, the McIntire School of Commerce, the School of Architecture, the School of Engineering and Applied Science, and the School of Medicine. 

Recipients of the Foundation’s faculty awards receive cash stipends and are recognized at a reception at the Foundation. All recipients also are welcomed into the Jefferson Scholars community as Faculty Fellows and are invited to participate in all appropriate Foundation programs and events.

Award for Excellence in Teaching

Thanks to the generosity of an anonymous donor, in 2012 the Jefferson Scholars Foundation began recognizing University faculty who have demonstrated both excellence in teaching and exceeding care for their students. This award honors those teachers in our community who have gone the extra mile in fulfilling their vocation without regard for their own advancement. 

The 2019 recipients are:

  • Patrick Grant, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, School of Medicine
  •  John Miller, Department of Classics, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Mohammed Sawaie, Department of Middle Eastern & South Asian Languages & Cultures, College of Arts & Sciences

2019 Award for Excellence in Teaching Winners (left to right): Patrick Grant, John Miller, and Mohammed Sawaie

Hartfield Excellence in Teaching Award

Since 2010, the Jefferson Scholars Foundation has recognized faculty in the School of Engineering and Applied Science with an annual award. Recipients demonstrate that communicating knowledge and inspiring students are as important to the education process as scholarship, and they exemplify the highest standards and practices of teaching.

The 2019 recipients are:

  • Nada Basit, Department of Computer Science, School of Engneering & Applied Science
  • Geoff Geise, Department of Chemical Engineering, School of Engineering & Applied Science

2019 Hartfield Excellence in Teaching Award Winners (left to right): Nada Basit and Geoff Geise

Foundation Faculty Prize

Awarded biennially, the Foundation Faculty Prize is voted on by Jefferson Scholars alumni on the criteria of leadership, scholarship and citizenship. David Gies, Professor of Spanish in the Department of Spanish, Italian & Portuguese, is the recipient of the 2018 Foundation Faculty Prize.



David and Jane Walentas

A transformational gift for UVA — $100 million to benefit first-generation students

Read more


The Jefferson Scholarship is the premier undergraduate scholarship at the University of Virginia. Scholars are selected through a rigorous selection process that is based on exceptional performance in the areas of leadership, scholarship, and citizenship.

Read more


The Jefferson Fellowship is the premier graduate fellowship offered at the University of Virginia. Based solely on merit, the Fellowship seeks to attract Ph.D. and M.B.A. candidates.

Read more