Recognizing outstanding faculty at the University

Jefferson Scholars Foundation awards $25,000 to five U.Va. faculty members

April 23, 2019

The Foundation has announced the 2019 winners of its annual faculty awards. Five UVA faculty members were recognized for their exceptional teaching and received awards totaling $25,000.

Three faculty members received the Foundation’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, which recognizes faculty members who have endeavored selflessly to instill in their students the virtues of scholarship and love of learning. The winners were: Patrick Grant, associate professor of biochemistry and molecular genetics in the School of Medicine; John Miller, professor of classics in the College of Arts & Sciences; and Mohammed Sawaie, professor of Arabic in the College.

Two faculty members in the School of Engineering and Applied Science received the Hartfield Excellence in Teaching Award, which recognizes engineering faculty who exemplify the highest standards and practices of learning. Nada Basit, assistant professor of computer science, and Geoff Geise, assistant professor of chemical engineering, were this year’s winners.



The Jefferson Scholarship is the premier undergraduate scholarship at the University of Virginia. Scholars are selected through a rigorous selection process that is based on exceptional performance in the areas of leadership, scholarship, and citizenship.

Read more

David and Jane Walentas

A transformational gift for UVA — $100 million to benefit first-generation students

Read more


The Jefferson Fellowship is the premier graduate fellowship offered at the University of Virginia. Based solely on merit, the Fellowship seeks to attract Ph.D. and M.B.A. candidates.

Read more