Lisa Spaar, recipient of the 2013 Jefferson Scholars Foundation Faculty Prize, continues to garner national recognition

March 31, 2015

Lisa Russ Spaar, professor of creative writing and director of the Poetry Writing Program in the Department of English Language & Literature at U.Va., was the recipient of the 2013 Jefferson Scholars Foundation Faculty Prize and has now been named one of three finalists for the national, $250,000 Cherry Award for Great Teaching. Read more about this recent honor here.



The Jefferson Scholarship is the premier undergraduate scholarship at the University of Virginia. Scholars are selected through a rigorous selection process that is based on exceptional performance in the areas of leadership, scholarship and citizenship.

Read more


The Jefferson Scholars Foundation, like its namesake, knows that virtue and talent come from all walks of life. Indeed it is this knowledge that drives the Foundation to search the world over for its recipients.

Read more


The Jefferson Fellowship is the premier graduate fellowship offered at the University of Virginia. Based solely on merit, the Fellowship seeks to attract Ph.D. and M.B.A. candidates.

Read more