JSF awards four faculty members the 2016 Award for Excellence in Teaching

November 23, 2016

Over the last 10 years, the Jefferson Scholars Foundation has established three different faculty recognition programs, awarding more than $420,000 to approximately 45 faculty members in the College of Arts & Sciences, the Frank Batten School of Leadership & Public Policy, the McIntire School of Commerce, the School of Engineering and Applied Science and the School of Medicine.

Recently, at a banquet in Foundation Hall featuring 2015 recipient of the Foundation Faculty Prize Michael Timko (pictured above) as the keynote speaker, the Foundation continued in its efforts to recognize outstanding faculty at the University by naming four recipients of the 2016 Award for Excellence in Teaching. The recipients are:

 Edmund “Butch” Brodie III, Department of Biology
Jeffrey J. Holt, Departments of Mathematics and Statistics
Jon D. Mikalson, Department of Classics
Kathryn Thornton, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Designed to recognize faculty members who selflessly endeavor to instill in their students the virtues of scholarship and a love of learning, the Award for Excellence in Teaching honors those teachers in the University community who have gone the extra mile in fulfilling their vocation without regard for their own advancement. “This year the Foundation received a record number of nominations from Department Chairs, making this year’s selection the most competitive to date,” said Jimmy Wright, president of the Foundation.

Each recipient received $5,000 and will be invited to take part in a variety of academic and intellectual programming that occurs at the Foundation every year, including lectures, academic conferences, film screenings, and social gatherings.  





The Jefferson Scholars Foundation, like its namesake, knows that virtue and talent come from all walks of life. Indeed it is this knowledge that drives the Foundation to search the world over for its recipients.

Read more


The Jefferson Fellowship is the premier graduate fellowship offered at the University of Virginia. Based solely on merit, the Fellowship seeks to attract Ph.D. and M.B.A. candidates.

Read more


The Jefferson Scholarship is the premier undergraduate scholarship at the University of Virginia. Scholars are selected through a rigorous selection process that is based on exceptional performance in the areas of leadership, scholarship and citizenship.

Read more