Three Marshall Scholarship winners demonstrate the Jefferson Scholar difference

December 4, 2017

The Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission has announced the names of 43 individuals selected to receive Marshall Scholarships in 2018. Among this year’s winners are two current Jefferson Scholars and one Jefferson Scholar alumnus: Jack Chellman, the Holbert L. Harris Foundation Jefferson Scholar, Attiya Latif, the Hathaway Family Jefferson Scholar, and Porter Nenon, the Stanley G. Mortimer III Jefferson Scholar from the Class of 2016. This marks the second year in a row that three members of the Jefferson Scholars community have been awarded the highly competitive and prestigious award in a single year. Last year, in an unprecedented year for both the University and the Foundation, three U.Va. students were selected to receive Marshall Scholarships. All three recipients were Jefferson Scholars.

Marshall Scholarships finance young Americans of high ability to study at the graduate level at a U.K. institution in any field of study. To learn about the achievements and future plans of these outstanding Scholars, click here.




The Jefferson Scholars Foundation, like its namesake, knows that virtue and talent come from all walks of life. Indeed it is this knowledge that drives the Foundation to search the world over for its recipients.

Read more


The Jefferson Fellowship is the premier graduate fellowship offered at the University of Virginia. Based solely on merit, the Fellowship seeks to attract Ph.D. and M.B.A. candidates.

Read more


The Jefferson Scholarship is the premier undergraduate scholarship at the University of Virginia. Scholars are selected through a rigorous selection process that is based on exceptional performance in the areas of leadership, scholarship and citizenship.

Read more