Alumni (Scholar)

Manas Nigam

E. Stuart James Grant Jefferson Scholar
Class: 2011
Hometown: Danville, Virginia
B.S. University of Virginia (2011)
B.A. University of Virginia (2011)
M.D. University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine (2015)

First Year Council, Diversity Committee; Dobie House Council; Resident Staff, Recognition Committee, resident advisor; Beta Theta Pi, leadership chair; Di Shaan Bhangra Team; U.Va Hospital, Surgical Admissions Suite and Family Care; Charlottesville-Albemarle Rescue Squad, EMT; Beirne B. Carter Immunology Center; Goehler-Gaykema Neuroimmunology Laboratory; Soccer Organization of Charlottesville-Albemarle; Washington Literary Society and Debating Union; Sustained Dialogue; India Day, organizer/MC; Asian Pacific American Heritage Month director; Asian Pacific American Leadership Training Institute; Hindu Students Council; Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, School of Business Administration, University Programs Council, CIO Connections Committee, Students for Students International; Duke University, Division of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery summer researcher; Jeffersing co-creator; SOCA Soccer Coach; McIntire School of Commerce Tutor; India Day M.C. Spring, 2011; Warwick D. Johnson International Scholarship; Lawn Resident; Intermediate Honors; Dean's List; Echols Scholar

Connect with our community

View Alumni



The Jefferson Fellowship is the premier graduate fellowship offered at the University of Virginia. Based solely on merit, the Fellowship seeks to attract Ph.D. and M.B.A. candidates.

Read more


The Jefferson Scholarship is the premier undergraduate scholarship at the University of Virginia. Scholars are selected through a rigorous selection process that is based on exceptional performance in the areas of leadership, scholarship and citizenship.

Read more


The Jefferson Scholars Foundation, like its namesake, knows that virtue and talent come from all walks of life. Indeed it is this knowledge that drives the Foundation to search the world over for its recipients.

Read more